31 Julio 2020

Navega Therapeutics’ CEO Dr. Ana Moreno has been recognized with the 2020 Mitchell Max Award for Research Excellence in Pain

Dr. Moreno wins the 2020 Mitchell Max Award from the National Institute of Health’s Pain Consortium.

San Diego, California, July 31, 2020.

Dr. Ana Moreno, CEO of Navega, received the 2020 Mitchell Max for Research Excellence from the NIH’s Pain Consortium. Dr. Moreno’s research has focused on the treatment and prevention of chronic neuropathic pain via the epigenetic repression of sodium channels. The NIH Pain Consortium Mitchell Max Award for Research Excellence honors Dr. Mitchell Max, MD (1949 – 2008) for his lifetime contribution to pain research and is awarded annually to the best poster presentation at the NIH Pain Consortium Symposium.

More info can be found here: https://www.painconsortium.nih.gov/Meetings_Events/Annual_Symposium/Mitchell_Max_Awards


About Mitchell B. Max, MD


Photo of Mitchell Max

Mitchell B. Max, MD, was a visiting professor of anesthesiology, medicine, and human genetics and director of the Molecular Epidemiology of Pain Program at the University of Pittsburgh Center for Pain Research. He received his undergraduate degree from Yale University and his medical degree from Harvard Medical School. He completed a fellowship in neurology and pharmacology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York, studying the pharmacokinetics of opioid drugs. He was appointed medical director of the Pain Research Clinic in the pain and neurosensory mechanisms branch of the NIH National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR). For over two decades, he conducted research on the mechanisms and treatment of analgesics and neuropathic pain and published extensively. From 2005 to 2007 he was chief of the clinical pain research section of NIDCR. Dr. Max was a fellow of the American Neurological Association since 1990, a member of the AAN (1988–1990), and a member of the American Pain Society (APS). At the APS, he served as secretary from 1988–1990, chair of the Quality Improvement Committee (1988–1995), member of the Decade of Pain Research Planning Committee (2002–2008), and chair of the Analgesic Guidelines Committee (1986–2002), which produced the influential monograph Principles of Analgesic Use in the Treatment of Acute Pain and Cancer Pain. His multiple honors and awards include the APS Wilbert E. Fordyce Clinical Investigator Award (1996), the US Public Health Service Citation Award (1986), and the NIH Director's Award (1993).

About the NIH Pain Consortium

The NIH Pain Consortium was established to enhance pain research and promote collaboration among researchers across the many NIH Institutes and Centers that have programs and activities addressing pain. To this end, the following goals have been identified for the Pain Consortium:

  • To develop a comprehensive and forward-thinking pain research agenda for the NIH - one that builds on what we have learned from our past efforts.
  • To identify key opportunities in pain research, particularly those that provide for multidisciplinary and trans-NIH participation. 
  • To increase visibility for pain research - both within the NIH intramural and extramural communities, as well as outside the NIH. The latter audiences include our various pain advocacy and patient groups who have expressed their interests through scientific and legislative channels. 
  • To pursue the pain research agenda through Public-Private partnerships, wherever applicable. This underscores a key dynamic that has been reinforced and encouraged through the Roadmap process.